Rick Springfield – Automatic

AutomaticBack in the 80’s, Richard Lewis Springthorpe aka Rick Springfield was huge. For some weird reason his music never resonated with me back then. Sure, I knew the hits and I thought they were pretty good but I never got around to buying any records. Up until 1988 and Rock Of Life that is. But even though I dug – and still dig – that record hard I never got around to checking out any of his older stuff – or stay in touch with what came after it. It would take me something like 20 years to do that. In 2008 Springfield released Venus In Overdrive, a record that totally floored me. Songs For The End Of The World (2012) sealed the deal for me – I was now officially a Rick Springfield fan – and now I love his old stuff.

Read the review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in AOR

3 comments on “Rick Springfield – Automatic

  1. I think I agree with you. There are some great songs on here, but 20 is a lot to take in. Splitting in to 2 Discs would’ve have been a perfect idea. Still though, it is nice to see him still putting out material and having it be some pretty good stuff is a plus. My favorite album of his is Shock/Denial/Anger/Acceptance.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.