Brian Robertson

BRIAN ROBERTSON – Diamonds And Dirt

Brian Robertson - Diamonds and DirtBrian Robertson. Does that name ring a bell? Anybody? Well, it should, because this is the guy who was one of the guitar players in the most legendary line up of Thin Lizzy. He also recorded one album with Motörhead, the now more or less classic Another Perfect Day. But if the name isn’t familiar to you, it probably has everything to do with the fact that the guy hasn’t exactly been busy with releasing new material. Actually, record wise this CD is the first sign of life we get from the guy in 20 years or something like that. But it was worth the wait because his new album is fantastic. And it feels so good to hear that he hasn’t lost his skills in the guitar playing department. The album was recorded at Polar Studios in Stockholm, Sweden and almost everyone involved in this project are Swedish. Which isn’t strange at all as Robbo spends a whole lot of his time in Sweden. With Chris Laney at the production helm, he has not only great songs, but an album that sounds really good as well – and the band playing on here isn’t crap either. Leif Sundin (Great King Rat, MSG) is an amazing singer with a big range and his Coverdale, Rodgers, Plant influenced style suits this kind of bluesy rock ’n’ roll perfectly. Nalley Påhlsson (Therion, Treat, Last Autumn’s Dream among many) is one of the best bass players Sweden has to offer and Ian Haugland (drums, Europe) really needs no introduction.  With names like that in the band, you really can’t fail and when both songs and sound grooves like crazy, we can only state that Robbo has a killer on his hands.

Just listen to the title track, ”Passion”, ”Mailbox”, ”Devil In My Soul” and ”Do It Til We Drop”. These are songs that grooves so hard that even a paralyzed would get up and dance. And ”That’s All”, well just listen to the great wha-wha playing. This is great stuff!. Squeezed in here are also three Thin Lizzy covers. Killer versions of ”It’s Only Money” from their Nightlife album (also covered by Europe man John Norum recently) and two versions of ”Running Back”, the fantastic track from Jailbreak. The first is a rockier version that’s actually almost better than the original and second one has become a blues song here – very good. The third cover is ”Blues Boy”. It’s not really a cover as it is a Phil Lynott / Brian Robertson composition, although never released. And thank God, somebody recorded it already, because it’s great. On ”10 Miles To Go On A 9 Mile Road”, a Jim White composition, Robbo sings himself. Robbo might not have the widest range, but his voice is interesting. It’s a great song that reminds me a bit of the country rock that Steve Earle does so good, especially in the way that Robbo talk/sings. As a bonus we get ”Ain’t Got No Money”, a Frankie Miller track with lead vocals from Rob Lamothe (Riverdogs). Hopefully Robbo and his band will take this out on the road soon, because this music would fit the stage perfectly.  I really hope that as many people as possible will discover this album. Robbo is a legend, in my book and I think he deserves a second shot at glory. So do him and yourselves a favour and pick this album up.

Jon Wilmenius (8/10)


01: Diamonds And Dirt
02: Passion
03: It’s Only Money
04: Mail Box
05: Running Back
06: Texas Wind
07: Devil In My Soul
08: Do It Till We Drop
09: Blues Boy
10: That’s All!
11: 10 Miles To Go On A 9 Mile Road
12: Running Back (slow version)
13: Ain’t Got No Money  (bonus track)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.