Three Days Grace band photo

THREE DAYS GRACE – Life Starts Now

Three Days Grace - Life Starts NowAs modern radio mainstream metal isn’t really my choice of poison, I only knew Three Days Grace by name and maybe one or two singles from rock radio. They never made a big impression on me, therefore I wasn’t that interested in checking them out. So, the band is a new acquaintance to me even though they have a few years and albums behind them. But after giving this album a couple of spins, I’m pretty glad I decided to give them a break and check them out, because this, their latest CD is actually really good. Sure, they use all the elements that should guarantee them some decent airplay on rock radio and they are not original by any means, but who gives a crap? If you have great songs, originality is totally overrated and this album is full of good songs and a big, good, clean production that makes the songs shine even more.

”Bitter Taste”, the opener, has big hit feel, it rocks and it’s catchy, ”Break” has a really brilliant hook, ”World So Cold” is a hard ballad with heavy guitars and ”Lost In You” is a heavy pop song. All great numbers that sounds diverse but still, you can hear it’s the same band. ”The Good Life” sounds like Hinder, a great song, but unfortunately a bit too heavy on the distortion which ruins the sound a bit and ”No More” is so obviously written for mainstream radio that it doesn’t really work for me. Although, ”Last To Know” is a great piano ballad that sounds a bit like Shinedown and ”Someone Who Cares” with its sticky chorus and great hook really makes you forget the tiny mistakes that are left on some of the songs and makes you want to give the CD another spin. This is a great album with a modern sound, but not too modern, a great singer, with faultless performances and a great production. My guess is that they will do great and if you’re open minded enough, then give them a break. I’m glad I did.

Jon Wilmenius (8/10)

Track list:

  1. Bitter Taste
  2. Break
  3. World So Cold
  4. Lost In You
  5. The Good Life
  6. No More
  7. Last To Know
  8. Someone Who Cares
  9. Bully
  10. Without You
  11. Goin’ Down
  12. Life Starts Now

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.