Motorhead band photo

MOTÖRHEAD – The Wörld Is Yours

Motorhead - The World is YoursMotörhead is an icon. They have been making music since the mid seventies and no matter who is in the band, it has always sounded like Motörhead. Some people will say that they are repeating themselves and maybe, sometimes they are. But the fact is, Lemmy is somewhat a magician when it comes to writing shitloads of songs with so few chords. We are all familiar with classic rock albums like Ace Of Spades, Overkill and Bomber. In the 90’s they also recorded albums that should be considered classics, such as 1916, March Ör Die and Bastards. And to this day, Lemmy, guitarist Phil Campbell and drummer Mikkey Dee keep on spitting out albums at a furious speed. Usually once a year we’re granted a new Motörhead album and maybe that is, to use their own titles, a bit of an overkill. because it’s not every time we get a killer album from these guys, but one can rest assured that they will never release a bad one.

The Wörld Is Yours, however is the best album Motörhead has released in years and years. In fact, not since the mid nineties have I been so excited about listening to a Motörhead CD. This feels like the old days. The music is hard and aggressive, still full of great melodies and, as always, a dark sense of humor. Their sound is always unmistakable, but this sounds like a classic Motörhead album where both songs and sound fits like a glove. ”Born To Lose” is classic Motörhead and a great opener, ”Get Back In Line” rocks and grooves with an awesome rhythm, ”Rock ’n’ Roll Music” is a tribute to, well, rock ’n’ roll music and a real ass kicker and ”Bye Bye Bitch Bye Bye” is maybe best of all – Rock ’n’ roll Motörhead style.”Brotherhood Of Man” on the other side, is dark, heavy and just brilliant. To be honest, before this album I thought that the days when Motörhead could make a classic killer of an album were in the past, but this shows that they’re still capable to kick serious behind while sending shivers to your spine. To use the words of Lemmy – We are Motörhead and this is Rock ’n’ Roll. Damn right it is.

Jon Wilmenius (8/10)


1. Born To Lose
2. I Know How To Die
3. Get Back In Line
4. Devils In My Head
5. Rock ‘n’ Roll Music
6. Waiting For The Snake
7. Brotherhood Of Man
8. Outlaw
9. I Know What You Need
10. Bye Bye Bitch Bye Bye

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.