Helloween band photo

HELLOWEEN – 7 Sinners

Helloween - 7 SinnersNo matter what you think of Helloween, you have to admire them for never giving up. The band started in the early 80’s and was very close to a major break through with their two Keeper Of the Seven Keys albums. But due to record company issues, their so important follow up got way delayed and when the ridiculously titled Pink Bubbles Go Ape finally arrived a lot of their fans had gone elsewhere. And to make matters worse, the album wasn’t remotely as good as the Keeper albums. After the very confused (but still very good) Chameleon album, singer Michael Kiske left the band and was replaced by Andi Deris from Pink Cream 69, who is still in the band. With Deris in the band, Helloween went back to the Heavy Metal they were known for, but the big album sales were and still are absent. No albums with Deris has been all bad, but unfortunately they have never released an all through great album either.

With their new album, that fact still remains. This CD is a bit heavier and darker than what we’re used to, but that actually fits them. The contrast to the very sing-alongish melodies are actually pretty cool. ”Where The Sinners Go” is a great track, heavy and dark and ”The Sage, The Fool, the Sinner” is a classic Helloween track, the best song they have written in ages. More of that kind of songs and they might give us a killer album again. ”Mr Madman” is catchy enough and may work as a single. Unfortunately, most songs are pretty good while you’re listening, but the second the album ends, you don’t remember anything. Nothing sticks. And then there is total clichés like ”Are You Metal?”. I mean, come on. Are You Metal?? You can’t expect to be taken seriously with a title like that.

This album isn’t bad as in crap, but I’m wondering, is this the best they can do? When are they going to give as a new ”Future World”? Or a new ”I Want Out” or a new ”Dr Stein”? They release album after album but all of them are somewhere between mediocre and OK, just like this album. I don’t know what it would take for them to release a modern Helloween classic. Maybe a reunion with Michael Kiske?

Jon Wilmenius (5/10)


01. Where The Sinners Go
02. Are You Metal?
03. Who is Mr. Madman?
04. Raise The Noise
05. World Of Fantasy
06. Long Live The King
07. The Smile Of The Sun
08. You Stupid Mankind
09. If A Mountain Could Talk
10. The Sage, The Fool, The Sinner
11. My Sacrifice
12. Not Yet Today
13. Far In The Future

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.