Quiet Riot – Road Rage

I remember back in 1983, I was just a teen and a metal head. Living in Sweden, there was no hard rock or metal in the media at all, so when Swedish Television decided to show a big metal festival that took place in Westfallenhalle, Germany, it was a huge surprise. It contained some of my favorite bands back then – Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Ozzy Osbourne, Def Leppard – and some acts that I wasn’t too familiar with in Krokus and MSG. it also contained one act that I had never heard a note of – Quiet Riot. Now, I had read about them so I was very keen to see what they were all about. The festival wasn’t shown in its entirety, of course, only three or four songs of each band were shown and Quiet Riot had three – “Metal Health”, the Slade cover “Cum On Feel The Noize” and “Slick Black Cadillac”. After that, this boy was hooked and I bought their third, but world-wide debut album Metal Health (1983) right away. I was sure that Quiet Riot would be huge because I loved that album – and the album was huge, it sold millions. But their career as superstars was about to be short. By the time of the follow up Condition Critical (1984), it was more or less over.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in Hard Rock

2 comments on “Quiet Riot – Road Rage

  1. I was kind of rooting for Durbin due to his health issues, but he should have been brought in when he was fresh off Idol. Now no one remembers him.
    As for Banali, he comes across as a real arrogant jerk. He considers Quiet Riot to have begun when he joined.
    The day Dubrow died was the day QR died for me.
    Move on Banali.

    • I heard some stuff with his predecessor, Seann Nicols. I think he was the better man for the job. A pity that he left.
      But I agree, QR died with DuBrow even if I wasn’t particularly into them even before that.

Leave a Reply

