Jorn – Life On Death Road

I’m a Jorn fan. And I’m not a Jorn fan. Have I gone schizophrenic maybe? Nope. See, I love Jorn Lande as a singer, his Ronnie James Dio meets David Coverdale type of voice and ridiculously broad range can send shivers down my spine and when he sings on projects such as Avantasia, Ayreon, Masterplan and Allen/Lande, the guy is brutally awesome! But when he decides to go solo with his own band, I’m not really there. I have gone through every single of his Jorn Band albums and every single one of them has left me underwhelmed. Why? Well, because he’s not just that a great song writer, I’m afraid. Sure, there are always a few really good songs on every album but not many enough to make a great record. There’s a reason why his best solo work is a covers album – last year’s Heavy Rock Radio. When Jorn and former Wig Wam guitarist / song writer Trond Holter put their heads together in 2015 and made the brilliant Swing Of Death album under the moniker Jorn Lande & Trond Holter Presents Dracula and he added Trond to his solo band, I had high hopes that the next Jorn album would be as great as the Dracula thing, but it wasn’t to be. Trond was out quicker than he came in and that was that.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in Hard Rock

2 comments on “Jorn – Life On Death Road

    • It’s a pretty weak 6, I might add. The problem with Jorn’s solo stuff is that it lacks longevity, kind of. The good songs are good while listening but they didn’t make me wanna listen again. That said, the album has grown on me some since the first listen. And it have gotten some really good reviews on other sites.
      Check it out and let me know what you thought of it.

Leave a Reply

