Kreator – Gods of Violence

kreator-gods-of-violenceI remember so well the first time I heard Kreator back in the late 80’s / early 90’s. I had heard OF them before, they showed up in all the hard rock and metal magazines I used to read back then, but since I was never a thrash metal fan I never gave them the time of day – I knew it would be a waste of time for me. But Headbanger’s Ball Europe – fronted by the brilliant VJ Vanessa Warwick – played their video of “Betrayer” (Extreme Aggression, 1989) and the jaws of your truly dropped to the floor. Not in a positive way, I might add. As I said, as a sucker for melodic hard rock, hard rock, AOR and heavy metal with no regards for thrash metal what so ever, I wondered if someone was playing me, if this was some kind of joke because I couldn’t find anything in that song that was even close to a melody and song structure. Even when my tastes had been stretched and I had taken a liking to stuff like Metallica and Megadeth, I couldn’t understand what was so good about Kreator. But that was then and for the last 15 years or so, I have taken a liking for harder stuff like Slayer and Testament and even more extreme acts like Dimmu Borgir and Watain. Still, that “Betrayer” video has stuck in my mind which has made me ignoring Kreator totally. Until now. Why? Well, let’s just say that for their brand new record – their 14th – there has been lots of big talk – some of that came from people I wouldn’t have expected liking Kreator – so I just had to check out their video for the title track of this album and it got me interested in, if not the band as such, then at least this album.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in Metal

Leave a Reply

