Blackberry Smoke – Like an Arrow

482437Blackberry Smoke are my favorite southern rock band. To be honest, that doesn’t speak for much because I’m not really a big fan of southern rock. Lynyrd Skynyrd? Nope. Molly Hatchet? Nah. Blackfoot? Hell yeah! But to me Blackfoot weren’t really a southern rock band, to these ears, they were more a ballsy hard rock band with a big chunk of southern influences. But Blackberry Smoke are a southern rock band straight up. That’s why it took me a while to get my thumb out of my ass to check them out, but when I did – much because a friend of mine more or less forced me to – I was hooked right away. I can’t put my finger on why but that album – A Little Piece Of Dixie (2009) – really moved me and it got under my skin somehow. I loved that album intensively and when they released The Whippoorwill three years later, I just didn’t stand a chance – I was hooked for real. That album is to this day my favorite Blackberry Smoke record even though its predecessor and their latest effort Holding All The Roses (2015) aren’t that far behind. The only Blackberry Smoke record I find a bit on the uneven side – although not even close to bad – is their debut Bad Luck Ain’t No Crime (2004). And I’m not the only one who has discovered Georgia, Atlanta’s finest in recent years because Blackberry Smoke’s popularity has been rising with every album – their last album being their biggest success so far and I wouldn’t be surprised one bit if they will become a huge major act in the very near future.

Read the full review

2 comments on “Blackberry Smoke – Like an Arrow

  1. Yeah, not a huge fan of Southern rock myself but I have to admit this album is really good. Loving the song ‘Running Through Time’ a lot right now, also really dig the first track ‘Waiting for the Thunder’. They straddle the line between country and rock pretty well and I think this album will appeal to fans of both kinds of music.

    This is the first time I’ve given them a good listen, but now that you mention The Whippoorwill, I remember hearing that was a great album a while back and I will definitely have to check that one out too.

    • Yeah, The Whipoorwill is awesome. But then again, all their records are so don’t forget about Holding All The Roses and A Piece Of Dixie. Your wallet might be a bit thinner but the music will make up for it.😉
      Cheers.

Leave a Reply

