Dare – Sacred Ground

472516I sat down in front of my TV some day back in 1988 to watch some of the hard rock / metal shows that was on the satellite TV shows back then. In 1988, cable wasn’t that usual in Sweden and the place I lived in was pretty early in getting it. I can’t remember if it was on Super Channel or Sky Channel but I never ever missed out on any of the shows that played hard rock and metal videos. Since the more melodic rock and AOR sounding music was huge back in ’88, many of the bands that were being played were in that vein, much to my happiness since I totally adored that kind of music back then (I still love that kind of music but my taste has grown much broader with age). One of the tracks on that show was the debut single from this new band Dare – “Abandon” – that had just been released and the female VJ said “…and girls, check out the lead singer, he’s really something else….”. The song came on and it was just jaw dropping. Little did I know when I saw that video was that the hunky lead singer was no one else than former Thin Lizzy keyboard player Darren Wharton. I was – and still is – a huge Thin Lizzy fan, but I had never paid much attention to Wharton before and since I didn’t even know he had formed a new band, it never dawned on me that this was the Lizzy guy – the female VJ never mentioned it either which is kind of strange. What I did know was that I had to have that album, called Out Of The Silence, and I made sure that that happened the next day or so. To me, Out Of The Silence is an AOR classic and I had the pleasure to see Dare open up for Europe on their Out Of This World tour in 1988, a concert that I still hold as one of my favorite concerts ever. But Dare never managed to top that record and the fact is, they have never even been close to do that.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in AOR

Leave a Reply

