Space Elevator – Space Elevator

Space Elevator Debut AlbumSo, I got this e-mail with a download link for an album with this band called Space Elevator. Space Elevator? I saw the cover art and figured this was some kind of power metal band. Checked out the credit list real quick and saw that the band is female fronted. Now I dropped the power metal thought and figured that I had gotten some kind of gothic metal band in the vein of Nightwish, Evanescence, Within Temptation and the likes on my hands, you know the kind of band there’s a million a dozen of. Yawn. I let it be for a while but I figured that I at least should give it a listen – it would be damn disrespectful not to. Turned out, I was in for a big surprise because this band didn’t sound anything like I had expected. The band was formed back in 2014 by guitar player David Young and the mysteriously named lead singer The Duchess. Young was the occasional guitar player for the Queen musical We Will Rock You in London and that’s where he met bass player Neil Murray (Whitesnake, Gary Moore, Black Sabbath) – probably the best bass player in rock ever – who was the bass player for said ensemble and he accepted to be part of the band – what a recruit.

Read the full review

Leave a Reply

