Sixx A.M. – Prayers for the Damned Vol. 1

Sixx AM - Prayers For The DamnedAs an old geezer, I still have a need to find new music. Not just new bands but also new music from old bands that are still hanging in there. I even dig up bands that I normally don’t like just to give them another shot – Hell, I just might dig them this time. Because music is my life elixir and if I could I would have music playing at my home 24/7. However, even though I have found shitloads of new bands in the last few years, many of them really damn brilliant, I haven’t found a band that I could call a favorite band. When it comes to favorite bands, I always go back to the usual suspects – Sweet, Kiss, Thin Lizzy, Rolling Stones, Y&T, Whitesnake, Deep Purple, Black Sabbath – bands that will always be the ones closest to my heart. Then I bumped into Sixx A.M. The first time I heard their debut album The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack (2007), I was completely floored. I loved that album then and I still do today and if I had reviewed it then, it would have been given the 10/10 treatment without a doubt. But it was clear that Sixx A.M. weren’t a real band back then, the album was just a soundtrack that went with Nikki Sixx’s book of the same name and the project was only for the studio. Besides, Nikki Sixx (bass) was busy with Mötley Crüe, D.J. Ashba (guitar) was employed by Axl Rose and his solo band he call Guns N’ Roses and lead singer James Michael had a career as a song writer. For us who loved that album, the news of a sequel in 2011 was really good news. Still not a real band and also a soundtrack to another Sixx-book, This Is Gonna Hurt surpassed all expectations – I would have given it an 11/10 rating if I could – and now I was seriously hoping that they would start acting like a band and not just a studio project. Those wishes came true in 2014 – Mötley Crüe were taking its final steps, Ashba had quit Axl N’ Roses and James was ready to go full-time with the band.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in Hard Rock

Leave a Reply

