Cheap Trick – Bang Zoom Crazy Hello

CHEAP-TRICK-Bang Zoom Crazy hello“Everything Works If You Let It”! That’s how you spell the reason I got into Cheap Trick for, what it feels like, a hundred years ago. In reality, it was the beginning of the 1980’s and my then best friend Daniel had an older brother who owned a copy of an E.P. with that song as the main track. I heard the tune once and I was hooked. Just a few days later, me and Daniel went to a second hand record store and that’s where I found a copy of Cheap Trick’s, now classic, live album At Bodukan (1978). “Everything Works…” wasn’t on that album and I hadn’t heard any of the tunes on that record, but I didn’t care, I bought it unheard and after that, I was in love. The band was formed back in 1973 by rhythm guitarist and lead vocalist Robin Zander, lead guitarist Rick Nielsen, bassist Tom Peterson and drummer Bun E Carlos, but it would take them a while to score a record deal. They released their self-titled debut album in 1977 and I’m a bit ashamed to say that I still haven’t heard the whole thing in its entirety, just a few songs that appeared on the re-released double CD version of At Bodukan – that album was originally just a single LP. It was said live album plus the masterpiece trilogy In Color (1977), Heaven Tonight (1978) and Dream Police (1979) – the latter is still one of my all time favorite records – that made me a huge fan. I would love to state that I have had a life long loving relationship with Cheap Trick, but their 1980 follow-up All Shook Up left me underwhelmed and disappointed and after that I lost interest in the band.

Read the full review

Leave a Reply

