Drive, She Said – Pedal to the Metal

308695Does anybody recognize the situation where you have been recommended a record by a friend and you don’t like it and your friend responds with “but you dig (insert genre of choice), how can you not dig this band”, just like you have to love every single band and album that moves in said territories? Happens quite a lot to me – or at least it used to. This happened to me back in the late 80’s when someone handed me a copy of AOR duo Drive She Said’s self-titled debut album from 1989. The thing is, I didn’t dislike that album per se, but except for the odd song or two it left me underwhelmed. I did tape the album and I kept the cassette and I put it on from time to time just to see if I had changed my mind – that actually happens, but I never became a fan. That also meant that I never bothered to check out the duo’s – that will be Mark Mangold on drums and keyboards and Al Fritsch on lead vocals, guitars and keyboards for your information – follow up from 1991, Drivin’ Wheel, until many, many years later and I can’t say that I have much recollection of that record at all.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in AOR

Leave a Reply

