Wolfmother – Victorious

Wolfmother - VictoriousWhen Wolfmother’s self titled debut album came out in 2005 (in their native Australia) and 2006 (world-wide), it was an immediate smash hit. For a new band to sell 1,5 million copies of an album in a time when everybody and their mother had found out how to download music for free is quite an impressive achievement. The band started back in 2000 by singer, guitar player and sole songwriter Andrew Stockdale together with bass player / keyboardist Chris Ross and drummer Myles Heskett, a line-up that was stable up until 2008. I remember pretty well when their debut came out as I had a bunch of friends who really dug that record, but no matter how I tried, I just couldn’t seem to get into it. Even today, I find that album only ok and not their finest moment which I have heard lots of people say about it. For me, things changed with the second one, 2009’s Cosmic Egg, this time with a new line-up and Stockdale as the only remaining member.

Read the full review

4 comments on “Wolfmother – Victorious

  1. I have been hearing Victorious on the radio a lot these days. I really like the tune. I hear the Ozzy-ness and the Sabbathisms you mention. But I love the song and will probably get this.

  2. Hmmm. I read another blogger whose opinion I often agree with give this album a very poor rating. He however loves the first album. So different strokes for different folks. I was almost not going to buy this, even though I originally was. I love the title track, so I should just get it and decide for myself. I often buy vinyl , and absolutely love the 3d look of the vinyl but if there is a deluxe edition on cd, I may go for that.

    P.S. I thought Scorpion Child was my little secret. Apparently others know of their awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

