Reckless Love – InVader

recklesslove-16“Alright, enough already. I give up!”. These are the words that I spoke to myself after reviewing Reckless Love’s last album Spirit (2013). I thought that I wouldn’t bother with this band anymore because frankly, I just don’t like them. Which is kind of strange because I really dig the genre they represent – glammy, sleazy, poppy hard rock with both metal and AOR undertones. So why doesn’t this band cut it for me, then? Well, first of all, after listening to their two first albums, their self-titled debut from 2010 and their 2011 follow-up Animal Attraction, I think they lack every trace of identity. I don’t have any problem at all with not being original, but they just don’t have a sound of themselves. Reckless Love also keeps piling up cliché after cliché, both musically and lyrically until clichés are what makes this band and the lyrics are many times so banal it gets embarrassing to listen to. I mean, titles such as “I Love Heavy Metal” and “Metal Ass” are nothing more than Steel Panther without the humor. So why even bother with the Finns fourth release then, one might ask?

Read the full review

Leave a Reply

