Bryan Adams – Get Up!

BRYANADAMS_GUOnce upon a time, long, long ago there was a young bloke from Canada that we can call, for the sake of simplicity, Bryan. Now, young Bryan wanted to be a rock star more than anything in the world so he got himself a guitar, learnt how to play and sing and then started to write some songs. Some 35 years ago, young Bryan managed to get himself a recording contract and lo and behold, he released two albums in a rather fast pace – Bryan Adams (1980) and You Want It, You Got It (1981), but the albums just didn’t cut it which lead to them don’t selling that well. Young Bryan’s record company – A&M Records – called young Bryan into their office and told him: “Bad, bad Bryan. No hits. Make hits. Better records. Sell  more”. Young Bryan had to call his friend and song writing partner Jim Vallance up and tell him that the bosses were angry at them and that they had to make a hit record next time or else…! So, writing began and in the meantime they wrote a couple of songs for Kiss (“Rock And Roll Hell” and “War Machine”, released on their 1982 record Creatures Of The Night) and in 1983 they released Cuts Like A Knife, an album superior to its predecessors which also led to a platinum (1 000 000 000 sold albums) in the US and the bosses at A&M said “Good boy, Bryan.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in Rock

2 comments on “Bryan Adams – Get Up!

  1. Jon I have to admit I am a little jealous. Even though English is not your first language, you came up with “underwhelming piece of musical sea of diarrhea”! Which is now my favourite phrase and I’ll probably steal it for my next Quiet Riot review.

    Man that is one sea I do NOT want to be swimming in.

    Anyway I love this review. As a proud Canadian, I used to like BA a lot. I think a lot of us gave up on him after 18 Til I Die, but I do think his unplugged record is fantastic. He’s had some good songs since…but so, so many ballads. “Please Forgive Me” is a good ballad. So is “Have You Ever Really Loved A Woman”. But Bryan Adams first caught my attention with “Run to You”, not a ballad.

    Jeff Lynne produced this? I’m puzzled too.

    Great review Jon. I’m not surprised but thanks for the warning anyway.

  2. You’re welcome to use that phrase anytime you like, buddy. 🙂

    I haven’t heard his unplugged record but I have some friends that went to see him on his unplugged tour earlier this year and everybody said it was great. I’m a bit sceptic, though…

    I really think Bryan Adams’ ballads are really cheesy and I can’t stand any of them, except for the brilliant Thought I’d Died And Gone To Heaven.

    To me, Bryan Adams is a Bon Jovi, a hopeless case. I don’t think any of them will ever make another great album.

Leave a Reply

