Michael Monroe – Blackout States

Layout 1When Hanoi Rocks released their debut album Bangkok Shocks, Saigon Shakes, Hanoi Rocks back in 1981, I was only 11 years old and it would take a few years before Sweden got their own music magazine for the young – a magazine that featured Hanoi Rocks quite a lot. But I never listened to them as a teenager – not because I had a problem with their somewhat feminine glam image – Hell, I am raised on The Sweet dammit – I just wasn’t interested and none of my friends listened to them either. Fact is, I didn’t know anybody who had ever heard a note from that band so we just didn’t care. I always thought it was weird that Hanoi Rocks were featured so much in that magazine – called Okej – when no one listened to them. Maybe it was just us. That’s why I believe that the reputation Hanoi Rocks has been given in the last 10 years or so as a major influence on more or less every sleaze and glam band that has ever existed is exaggerated big time and much of that reputation comes from a certain Axl Rose who told everyone that Hanoi Rocks were a big influence on him and Guns N’ Roses in general.

Read the full review

Leave a Reply

