Iron Maiden – The Book of Souls

432425When I was a kid, Iron Maiden single-handed (well, almost anyway) brought heavy metal (back) into my life. I grew up in the 70’s and Sweet and Kiss were my Gods. Until one day when my best friend brought The Ramones into my life and I discovered The Clash. Still listened to Sweet and Kiss, though. That friend brought The Rolling Stones, The Beatles and Jimi Hendrix into my life a little later on, but Ramones, Clash, Sweet and Kiss were all still present. Fast forward a year or so to 1982 and another friend came knocking on my door with Iron Maiden’s The Number Of The Beast under his arm. This, he said, was best shit ever and turn off that damn Stones record because I needed to listen to his album. Now! Apparently, side two was a bit cooler than side one on that LP, so we started with that. “Woe to you O earth and sea…” – Bang! That was it. It took only seconds of the opening riff of the album’s title track to make me realise that he was right – this really was the shit.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in Metal

2 comments on “Iron Maiden – The Book of Souls

  1. A fair assessment. I drooled over it a bit more than you did (OK, a lot) but you have more perspective than I as I am a relative noob on these guys. Even so, I’ve made up for lost time. I liked this new record tons. Very well-written review! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

