Nelson – Peace Out!

nelson_-_peace_outIt was the beginning of the 90’s, a time when MTV stood for Music Television and actually played music. If the stereo wasn’t on in my flat, MTV sure was. One day, a smooth, silky sound came from my living room where the TV set was, acoustic guitars, fine tuned melodies and then soft voices. The melody stuck instantly. What was this? I had to stop doing whatever I was doing and watch it. On the TV were two blonde twins in a video full of colours and the chorus just knocked me out. The song was called “Love And Affection”, the band was called Nelson and the album, which I bought the day after, was called After The Rain – one of the best AOR albums of all time. I must admit that I thought it was cool that they had recruited Vinnie Vincent’s old drummer Bobby Rock as well. Now, 25 years later, that album still stands tall and haven’t been affected by the hands of time one bit. When the video was over, I thought, “man, these dudes will be force-fed some major crap from now on”. Why? Well, first of all, their music wasn’t exactly death metal and if there are pretentious people anywhere, it’s within the hard rock and metal community. With their cute looks, long blonde hair, their colourful clothes and their soft rock songs, sometimes cheese deluxe (and I mean that in a good way), the boys were lambs to slaughter, a perfect target for the true metalhead.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in AOR

Leave a Reply

