Jorn Lande & Trond Holter present Dracula – Swing Of Death

Lande & Holter DraculaI know. To do a rock musical / opera about Dracula in 2015 is about as hot as a fridge in the North Pole. Also, the whole vampire subject feels really watered down with all the vampire related TV-series like True Blood and The Vampire Diaries and movies such as the Twilight saga that’s been shoved down our throats in recent years, there has been a vampire overload to put it mildly. I’m not gonna lie to you, I think True Blood is really great and I do have a soft spot for vampires, but for me, it’s the classics that rules. I thought Bram Stoker’s Dracula (which lies as a groundwork for this project) was bloody amazing. I know that there are smirks on people’s faces about this album and its concept and I can understand that, but on the other hand, if you’re gonna do a musical about Count Dracula, isn’t the format of hard rock really the ultimate genre to do it in? I think so. Norwegian singer Jorn Lande is a really great vocalist and his Ronnie James Dio / David Coverdale influenced set of pipes gives me a good feeling about this project as I believe he could fit perfectly as the part of Dracula. But what puzzles me a bit is that Jorn, just a few years ago said he would turn down all offers to do outside projects – like Avantasia and Ayreon that he turned down – to concentrate on his own band Jorn and now this project comes along not long after the fourth release of the latest Allen / Lande album.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in Hard Rock

One comment on “Jorn Lande & Trond Holter present Dracula – Swing Of Death

Leave a Reply

