Harem Scarem – Thirteen

haremscarem_thirteencoverI remember visiting a record store in Stockholm back in 1993, grunge had taken over and melodic rock, metal and AOR was breathing its last sighs. Out of the speakers came a sound that sounded like something from the late 80’s or early 90’s and being a music nerd that followed melodic hard rock slavish, I knew this had to be something new because I couldn’t for the world figure out who this lot were. The song in question was “Saviours Never Cry”, the band was Harem Scarem from Canada and the album was called Mood Swings and it had just arrived to the music store the day before. Luckily for me and my likes, the owner of the record store was a complete music nerd that made me look like a musical retard, that refused to give up on hard rock and metal just because flannels, goatees and heroin addiction were hip. He did sell grunge as well, though, hard rock in all shapes and forms was welcomed. Unfortunately he went out of business a few years later. Anyway, I didn’t even have to listen to the whole song, I just bought the record on the spot because I KNEW this would be a great album. And I was right. It was a killer album, full of catchy melodies, addictive choruses, great musicians and a melodic but heavy sound scape. I had found my new favourite band. Or so I thought. Things changed already by the follow-up, 1995’s Voice Of Reason, an album clearly influenced by grunge both sonically and visually. I don’t hate the record, but I’m not that big about it either. Needless to say, Harem Scarem never became my favourite band.

Read the full review

Leave a Reply

