Slipknot – 5 : The Gray Chapter

Slipknot - 5 The Gray ChapterNever in my life did I think that I one day would even bother with writing a review of a Slipknot album. Since the day they started – or at least since the day I first heard of them – I hated this band with every bone in my body. I thought their over aggressive attitude felt fake and their masks of evil clowns and pigs and whatever they used was so ridiculous that half would be enough. On top of that, I thought that their music sucked – hard! I knew they were selling shitloads of records in the US, which was totally beyond me. I mean, we all have different tastes and maybe I was totally off my rocker by dismissing the band so much, but their music was (and still is) totally uncommercial and I just couldn’t believe how that kind of music – which do travel a pretty narrow road – could sell so much. I mean, it’s not exactly radio friendly Britney Spears music we’re talking about here. That made me think about the fact that maybe Slipknot’s image wasn’t glued on, maybe they actually were that angry and mad at everything and then some. And maybe those masks weren’t all that goofy, maybe they actually meant something? Well, no matter what, I still didn’t like the music and I just put Slipknot in the “can’t be arsed to…” category. Until one day a couple of years ago or so, when my brother played me this song called “Psychosocial”  without telling me who it was. I totally loved the song and he let me know that this was actually Slipknot. Ooooooh-kay, I thought, maybe I have to give them – or at least the album the song was taken from, All Hope Is Lost (2008) – a chance, maybe that band wasn’t so bad after all. Well, that album is almost getting worn out at my place and I really think it’s an amazing record. Since that album came out, lots of stuff has happened in the Slipknot camp and none of it has been any good.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in Metal

Leave a Reply

