Dalton – Pit Stop

Dalton - Pit StopGuilty pleasures! Isn’t that a really stupid f**king word? Words. Sentences. Phrase, Whatever. Isn’t using them the same thing as admitting that you actually like something you shouldn’t because it sucks? I, myself am guilty of using that phrase at times and I cringe every time I do because there’s nothing about music to feel guilty about at all. You either like or you don’t and there really is no good or bad music per se, just different tastes. The reason I’m writing about guilty pleasures here is that Swedish pop metal five piece Dalton are probably one of those bands that goes by the guilty pleasure moniker for a lot of people, a band that you might like while on your own, but you really don’t speak out loud about it and if I’m honest, they has been for me too, until the day I decided to not have any guilty pleasures anymore, only pleasures. So, here it comes, I like Dalton, always has. Some record more than the other, but I like them and I think it’s a shame that they never got the recognition they deserved. When Dalton started out, they were known as “Treat’s little brother” in Sweden much because the fact that both their look and style of melodic hard rock were reminiscent of Treats’, but also because drummer Mats “Dalton” Dahlberg was the drummer on Treat’s debut album Scratch And Bite (1985). It was Mats who started this band and the name Dalton comes from his nick name, of course. They released their first album The Race Is On in 1987 and the band became mostly known for getting their first single and only hit “You’re Not My Lover (But You Were Last Night)” from Bon Jovi, a leftover from their Slippery When Wet sessions. They also got a song, “I Think About You”, from Michael Bolton that became a mini hit in Sweden. I remember digging that album hard when it came out, but listening to it today, it sounds rather dated and hasn’t aged that well at all. “You’re Not My Lover”, a song I loved in 1987, sounds embarrassingly dated today and I understand now why Bon Jovi didn’t want to use it. Much better, though was the follow-up Injection from 1989, a bit heavier and more authentic record than its predecessor. Unfortunately, when it was released, most people had lost interest in the band and it bombed. That album deserved a much better fate.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in AOR

Leave a Reply

