Flying Colors – Second Nature

Flying Colors - Second NatureWhen Flying Colors released their debut album back in 2012, my first thought was that it was just another progressive side project from drummer Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater, Transatlantic, Adrenaline Mob, Avenged Sevenfold, The Winery Dogs), playing 25-minute songs. Now I might be into some prog like Dream Theater, Opeth, Bigelf and Shadow Gallery, but most of it really makes me wanna go to sleep. Also, the fact that this band included keyboard player / singer Neal Morse (Spock’s Beard, Transatlantic) and ex-Dixie Dregs bass player Dave LaRue made me convinced that this band was nothing for me. Lead singer Casey McPherson hails from a band called Alpha Rev, a name that means nothing at all to me as I have never heard a note by them, but there was one name that made me at least a little interested: Steve Morse. Now, Steve Morse is the guitar player for Deep Purple since 1994 when he replaced Ritchie Blackmore and plays on brilliant albums like his 1994 Purple debut Purpendicular and their latest killer Now What (2013). He was also a member of both rock fusion band Dixie Dregs and Kansas. I thought, maybe I should at least give this band the benefit of a doubt – or something. And so I did. What I got was a magnificent journey through the minds of a bunch of progressive rockers who wanted to do something more melodic and straight forward than their day jobs. But that doesn’t mean that the album was short of progressive moments, no, there were such, of course. You really can’t bring in musicians like this and not get prog elements, but what was in focus on that record was the songs, the melodies, the groove and not how much and fast and technically hard the musicians could play. The album completely floored me right from hello and I haven’t stopped listening to it since.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in Hard Rock

3 comments on “Flying Colors – Second Nature

Leave a Reply

