Pearl Jam – Lightning Bolt

Pearl Jam - Lightning BoltWell well, look at this. Where is the world going? I mean, when I am actually reviewing a Pearl Jam record. Ever since the early 90’s when grunge first reared its ugly head, I have hated that kind of rock music. Nirvana were the worst, I loathed them – still do – but Pearl Jam weren’t far behind. Ok, so I kinda dug “Alive” and “Even Flow” off their debut album Ten (1991) and yes, I really liked Apple (1990), the only album from Mother Love Bone, the band that Pearl Jam grew out of, but that was it. Fast forward to 2009 and I get an e-mail from one of my best friends, we can call him Jake – a huge Pearl Jam fan, with a mp3 attached to it, saying “Give 3 minutes of your time and listen to this – I have a feeling you’ll like it”. The song was “Got Some” by Pearl Jam, the single from their then upcoming album Backspacer. So, despite my hate for grunge and Pearl Jam, I thought I’d just give ole Jakey the benefit of a doubt and listen to it. And I’ll be damned if I didn’t like it. Hell finally froze over.

Read the full review >>>

Leave a Reply

