Alter Bridge – Fortress

Alter Bridge - FortressWhen it comes to Alter Bridge, I’m kind of a late bloomer. I did know of their existence from hallo and a friend of mine gave a copy of their two first albums, One Day Remains (2004) and Blackbird (2007), but neither made any lasting impression on me and it wasn’t until they released their last album AB III (2010) the penny dropped. In all fairness, I must admit that I never really listened to the album with any intensity or interest – I mean, they were after all only Creed with a new singer and Creed weren’t anything other than Pearl Jam’s sloppy seconds! The reason I got into Alter Bridge at all is, of course, named Slash. The two songs on Slash’s first solo album that featured Alter Bridge master vocalist Myles Kennedy, “Back From Cali” and “Starlight” blew me right into next week. Not only were the songs great, Kennedy co-writes, he also had the vocal chords from Hell (or Heaven, depends on how you see it…) and that was enough to make me interested in Alter Bridge!

Read the full review >>>

Leave a Reply

