Rock Of Ages – Chinateatern, Stockholm, 2013-10-19

Rock of Ages Musical StockholmI’m not that big on musicals, I can admit that right away. The ones I have seen in my life can be counted on one hand – almost on one finger, as a matter of fact. I did see “Mamma Mia”, because I love ABBA and I have seen “Rent” – on DVD, that’s about it. Now, to go and see Rock Of Ages was really a no-brainer as the whole spectacle takes place in a decade I’m very familiar with and it contains music very close to my heart. I remember very well as a twenty something year old guy, watching Headbanger’s Ball, reading music mags like Metal Hammer and loving the melodic hard rock bands that were popping up on Sunset Strip in Hollywood like weeds on your lawn and wishing that I could be a part of all that debauchery.

Of course, Stockholm tried its best to be a little of all that. Rock Clubs like Kool Kat, Elm Street and Underground had the music and all the boys and girls dressed to the nines, giving their best shot to look and act the part of miniature Hollywood – well, on Fridays and Saturdays, that is. You had to work on weekdays, you know. I did see the movie version of this musical as well, sporting Tom Cruise as the decadent Axl Rose meets Jani Lane rock star Stacee Jaxx, but even though it was musically well done, the movie wasn’t all that great.

Read the full review >>>

Leave a Reply

