Watain – Lawless Darkness

Lawless DarknessOk, I was never a Black Metal fan. Quite the opposite, to be honest. I always hated both Black and Death Metal. Couldn’t hear any nuances, couldn’t hear any melodies and quite frankly, the image with corpse paint, fake blood and made up stage names that are supposed to sound evil and brutal, but in most cases just sounds ridiculous and childish, only felt lame. And let’s not forget the pictures / videos of evil men lurking in the woods with leather, chains and spikes – those always felt more poseur than any Poison in the world. So why write a review on a Black Metal record if I hate it so much, you might wonder. Well, see my ears opened a bit when I got this free CD from a magazine, Sweden Rock Magazine to be precise. Since the CD (a single) was free I decided that there was no reason at all for me not at least to give the single a chance, while doing my best to listen with an open mind. I liked what I heard and decided to give the band in question, Watain from Sweden, a go when they had released their new album – this one – and boy, was I in for a surprise. This was good – very good, in fact.

Read the full review

By e-tainment news reviews Posted in Metal

Leave a Reply

